Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladyjane_in_hawaii

What's Eating My Basil?

ladyjane_in_hawaii
16 years ago

Aloha. I have a small, potted basil plant on my Hamakua Coast lanai. I'm a recent transplant from the midwest, so I'm not sure how to stop whatever little bugger is gnawing on its leaves. There are chunks missing, and yesterday I noticed small black pellets - smaller than a pinhead. Is it eggs of some sort?

I've thought about moving the plant to an indoor area that gets plenty of sun, but don't want to do so if there are larva on the leaves.

Any advice? Mahalo.

Comments (8)

• Embothrium
    16 years ago

Small black pellets would be poops. Look for caterpillars.

• garden_isle_dave
    16 years ago

Aloha,

It was a while ago so Im not sure if you're still having the problem or if it has been resolved. Im an entomology student here on Kauai, so Im definitely interested in finding out what these are.

Definitely seems like you have caterpillars on the plant. If there are no 'pillars to be seen during the day, try waiting until evening, mid-night, and early morning to take a look. Many species of moth caterpillars feed on plants by during the evening/dusk/night hours, and hide by day under leaf litter or in the soil.
    There are a few swallowtails on the mainland which use Basil as a possible host plant, but fortunately we only have one species here in Hawaii, the Xuthus Swallowtail (Papilio xuthus) which feeds on plants in the citrus family.
    Hope this is some help to ya, if you do by chance find these little critters, Id love to see some photos!

Aloha and all the best,

~Dave
    Kauai, Hawaii
    Entomology/Photography
    Student

• gtanaka
    16 years ago

I'm not positive, but I think they're Rose Beetles. I have the same problem, but have not gone out early morning to see for sure. I had this infestation before and found the Rose Beetles eathing my grapes and roses.

• garden_isle_dave
    16 years ago

Aloha,