Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
amarasamata_gw

new to windward gardening

amarasamata
17 years ago

aloha - I'm new to Hawaii, Kaneohe (Bay side) and want to start planting a vegtable garden in my yard. we have the thick red clay soil and have no idea what will grow in it well. I've heard the U of H will test your soil? Is this nessasary? I've planted a banana tree and papaya tree which are doing well. I also have sprouted Durian seeds! Very ambitious I know. But what about tomatoes, cucumbers, eggplant, etc. excited to try.

Comments (4)

• beginnersmind
    17 years ago

Vegetable garden--sure, if you have good drainage and full sun, it's a good start. If you get your soil tested by UH you'll know what you have and UH can recommend amendments for your soil. I'd say you should ask them for a recommendation of the appropriate amounts of organic amendments if you want to go organic. In any case, if your soil is clayey you'll want to add compost for good structure and micronutrients.

Call UH extension office to ask how you should go about collecting your soil sample from your backyard. It usually takes about 2 weeks to get the results, I think.

Or you could just plant and see what happens. Usually tomatoes and eggplants are easy.

Here's some contact info for the Kaneohe office:

UH Kaneohe Extension
    45-260 Waikalua Road
    Kaneohe, HI 96744

(808)247-0421
    kaneohe@ctahr.hawaii.edu (email)

Good luck!

• hotzcatz
    17 years ago

There is a fruit fly which will "sting" your tomatoes and other fruits if they don't have a strong skin. Unfortunately, most larger tomatoes don't have a strong enough skin to withstand the fruit fly. Most folks plant the smaller cherry tomatoes and the Roma variety which do well. Also, if you plant an indeterminate type of tomato, it will keep giving you tomatoes for a long time whereas the determinate type of tomato will ripen all at once and then die off.