Return to the Hillside Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Steep slope in backyard

Posted by jpcn17 RI (My Page) on
Mon, Apr 7, 14 at 11:31

Hello, I have a steep (about 45 degrees) slope in my backyard that is currently rocky and only has scrub brush. It seems like it could be a great space for some interesting landcape designs, or even just some plantings / groundcover that will grow in semi-rocky soil in afternoon sun. Pics attached. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Steep slope in backyard

• Posted by anjp 5a/5b (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 7, 14 at 14:20

I have a similar aggressive slope in my backyard (though yours looks steeper) and am planning to landscape it into terraced gardens. How high from your stone wall base to the start of those evergreens, and how long horizontally?

What's behind those evergreens? Does the hill slope down again on the other side or are you just on a lower level than that house in the background?

o

• Posted by hoovb z9 Southern CA (My Page) on
    Mon, Apr 7, 14 at 14:26

Some kind of terracing is good if only just to be able to maintain the area. I have trails of concrete blocks dug into the soil on my steep slope so I can work up there safely. The other thing to consider is the tree roots. If they are all throughout the soil it will be difficult to plant anything substantial, and the tree roots may suck all the moisture away from anything you plant. Not that it can't be done, but you have to allow for that in your choice of plants.

Slopes despite those difficulties are great planting spaces.

o

Thank you for the feedback. The pine trees and evergreens are at the top, so the main face of the slope does not have too many roots (as far as I can tell!) but I am not thinking of anything too substantial. there is a fence on the other side, and so I am just on a lower level than that house. The slope is about 15 feet up from the base to the evergreens and 40 feet wide.

o

jpc,