Return to the Hillside Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hillside terraced garden

Posted by vignewood z6 CT (My Page) on
Tue, Sep 22, 09 at 21:57

Hi, Have any of you created terraced hillside gardens? If so, what did you plant on your terraces? We are building a new home and I told the builder that I love to garden. He created terraces faced with stone for me on a slope beside my driveway. I love the look and I am thrilled. I am thinking of a rock garden with trailing plants cascading over the rocks but I have never done this before. My garden will face northeast. I'd love to hear about your successes and what you planted. Vignewood

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hillside terraced garden

Some cascading plants will be nice, but what is the size of this area? Scale is really important for a nice look. How wide are the terraces? How high is each step? I have seen fairly large hillside gardens where the steps are large boulders and the setback to the next level is four or five feet, so even a small tree or two can look great along with other smaller plants. On the other hand smaller scale can make for a really nice rock garden with small plants, succulents, etc. We've all seen "Hens and Chicks" tucked in between rocks. A photo might help too.

o
RE: Hillside terraced garden

My mountain property is all sloped, so I do a lot of mini terraces edged with native stone, so they are very naturalistic looking (not formal). I have butterfly bushes (Buddleia davidii), nandina, mahonia, and beautyberry(Callicarpa americana) as my shrubs. Althea (Rose of Sharon) can be shrub or small trees.

I have a couple of Don Juan roses, and groundcover - creeping jenny (Lysimachia nummularia), a small sedum genus unknown, vinca, and lamium.