Return to the Hillside Gardening Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Please help with slope gardening issues...

Posted by Lizi4478 Mass 5 (My Page) on
Wed, Sep 12, 12 at 22:37

Hi Everyone!

I have a perennial garden on a steep slope...I know it probably doesn't look too steep in the picture, but it is. Does anyone have any ideas on how to fill in the spaces between the plantings and rocks? As you can see, there is landscape fabric, so that also presents a problem. I was thinking of doing more plantings, adding some more big rocks, and then fill in the cracks with large river rock. Some questions are should i put down chicken wire on top of the fabric to keep the rocks from sliding in the rain? Also, how large river rock should i use? Are there better options? I am a complete newbie at this, so thanks for any help you can offer!!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Please help with slope gardening issues...

• Posted by nil13 z21 Mt. Washington L (My Page) on
    Thu, Sep 20, 12 at 18:45

pic?

o
RE: PICS! Please help with slope gardening issues...

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

o

Liz, slope landscapes are both a wonderful and nightmarish challenge depending on how you approach them. If you are going to put larger trees, which I would reccommend, you should level off the area where the trees will be planted so the base of the tree is level and not on a slope. You can dig right into the hillside to do this, and put up a retaining wall in a half moon shape behind the tree to prevent dirt from washing over the roots too much. use a decorative stone, and it turns into a focal point.