Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michcabby

How much land to homestead?

michcabby
9 years ago

We are a young family and we are doing everything we can to begin our dream of owning a homestead. We are complete novices. We've had 5 backyard chickens and a small potted garden but know nothing more than what we've from books and homesteading blogs. But we know this is what we want to do with our lives and for our family.

We would even go to such lengths to live off grid if that were the only way. We are wondering: how much land would we need? We would like to have a large garden, big enough to live off of while in bloom, and to have enough to can for the remainder of the year. We would like to rely on our animals alone for meat and eggs, so we'd like to have meat and egg chickens, as well as 2-3 dwarf dairy goats. We would like to primarily have our animals be grass fed. If legal, we'd like to catch water for our garden and animals.

How many acres would we need minimum? We were thinking 5 would be enough... Are we close?

Thank you!

Comments (7)

• luvncannin
    9 years ago

I have been studying homesteading/getting back to living for over 2 years. I am closer now but not quite there yet. First it depends where you live. I live in west Tx. Dry and brutal summers make gardening a real challenge. Some parts of the country you get by with 5 but here I would have to have 20 to pasture raise 1 cow a few goats and have 50+ chickens in a moveable coop.
    I have one acre:/ But it is a start. I have producing fruit trees, and this year I am putting in a huge garden. I will be canning and solar dehydrating most of it.
    I read an ebook to start where you are and learn as many things as you can before you jump in head first. I admire y'alls desire. We wont regret slowing down.
    kim

• michcabby
    Original Author
    9 years ago