Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrstuna420

stories

MRStuna420
19 years ago

Hello! I am a graduate student who grew up in a homesteading family. Althouth I am currently going to school and living off of the farm, I keep homesteading in my heart and in my dreams. I am writing a book about homesteading for my graduate project. I would love it if some of you fellow homesteaders out there would share your stories and anecdotes with me.

I am looking for stories about homesteading life itself, what the concept means to you, why you undertook a homestead life, raising a family, animals and nature, or just about anything else that you might feel like writing about.

Some suggestions might be one's first experience with a livestock slaughter, homebirth stories, stories about (or by!) your children, stories about the trials and joys of homesteading, etc. Stories can be humorous, reflective, unusual, poingant, etc., but they must be true.

You can relate short stories by posting them here, or by sending me a private message. For longer stories, more personal stories, or if you would prefer, you can mail or e-mail your story to me. My e-mail address is stumoni37@earthlink.net. My address is 1504 RT-12, West Berlin, VT 05663.

Thank you all so much for your time. I hope that you enjoy writing your stories as much as I will enjoy reading them!

Comments (3)

• Pooh Bear
    19 years ago

Giant Bunny Rabbits.

I love raw cabbage. It is a favorite snack of mine.
    I like getting a head of cabbage and cutting a hunk out of it to eat.
    Back many years ago when I was boy of about 12 my Grandma kept a small vegatable garden. Mostly is was beans, onions, radishes, tomatoes, corn, brocolli, potatoes, and cabbage.
    Now I loved growing radishes and onions. The bigger the better.
    And It seemed to me the longer they grew the bigger they got.
    So I figured everything was that way when growing.