Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kellygirl_73

Just bought our little farm!

kellygirl_73
20 years ago

We're on cloud nine- just put the downpayment on our very own 9.52 acres in the Missouri Ozarks. It has been so long since we have lived in the country. About 3 years actually and then it was only 1/2 acre.

There is nothing on the land but electricity & phone are right in front of the property.

Any tips on well drilling? There is suposed to be water near the surface. What about digging one ourselves? Realistic? What does a reputable well driller charge - by the foot or what?

Thanks!

Comments (9)

• Dicken
    20 years ago

they commonly charge by the foot and the well-casing size.

it's fairly easy to rent portable [two-man] well-drilling equipment, but if you intend to drill on mountainous ground you might encounter rocks which such 'light-weight' equipment can't overcome.

i dunno, hand-drilling seems to be something of a guessing game which i'm not very good at. based on my personal experience, i'd hire it done if that were anyway possible.

luck to you,

-d.

• pnbrown
    20 years ago

Congratulations.

I second hiring a professional well-driller. Hand-driven wells are strictly for unrocky ground with the water table within 30-40 ft. Very unlikely in the Ozarks, from what I've seen of them!

Have you read Sue Hubbell's story about bee-keeping in the Ozarks?

• kellygirl_73
    Original Author
    20 years ago

No! I haven't read that! I'm off to the library and if they can't get it for me then it sounds like something I need to think about buying...

Thanks!

• babanna
    20 years ago

Just one tip....I was stationed in Ft. leonard wood for a bit....plan for tornadoes...
    build a cellar of some sort. It may save your lives even 20 years from now. do the investment its worth it. I was on too many military clean ups from them...not pleasant.