Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gladys47_gw

egg incubation

gladys47
18 years ago

I have an incubator and all the eggs I need , but no instructions. It is a styrofoam one with automatic turner. I need to know the temp. to set it at and how many days. Any additional information woud be greatly appreciated. This is my first attempt and I am anxious to start.Would also like to know about duck eggs.Thanks and wish me luck , Gladys

Comments (6)

• tedp2
    18 years ago

I don't know why no one has answered you before now,surely someone knows more than I, but I'll try.
    I remember clearly that chicken eggs take 21 days to hatch but don't remember the exact temp that is best. I know birds have a higher metabalism than humans and therefore higher temps, but hens can be away from the nest getting food and water for a while without damage to the embryos.
    I've heard of teenagers hatching eggs by tapeing them to their bodies so my guess is around 85-90 degrees F.
    Good luck!

• gran2
    18 years ago

I'll ask my daughter because she has eggs going ALL the time. I did learn that it's difficult to mix egg types in the incubator because of the size -- larger ones are closer to the heat source, etc.

• drygulch
    18 years ago

Here's a pretty good guide.

Here is a link that might be useful: Egg incubation

• Tsavah
    18 years ago