Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelly_28

Where to live?

Kelly_28
18 years ago

Well my husband and I have been considering moving for many years now. We rent a home in Southern Maryland because we can't afford to buy. We have two children that I homeschool and would love to move to a place where we can have land and grow some of our own food and raise the children. We want to live in a place that gets snow, has a wonderful community, low crime, and cheap housing. Does such a place exist? Housing costs are soaring and I want to own a house. We have never owned a house and that is one of my dreams. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Comments (33)

• lilacfarm
    18 years ago

Canada?

• nikki_bsutohldtn
    18 years ago

Kelly,
    Can I put my two-cents-worth in for East Tennessee? We have a little snow - usually only an inch or two at a time, except in the mountains. I live in Monroe County, only about 45 minutes from Cherokee National Forest and the Telico Mountains. Certainly not the Rockies, but they get lots more snow up there than down in the "flatlands." I don't know of any place any prettier anywhere. Right down the road from our house is a rancher on 5 acres - I think they want $115,000 for it. Nice land, too. There isn't a lot of industry around here, but good-paying work is not impossible to come by. The schools are good, there are plenty of churches, and the folks are real nice. (But then, I've found that folks are nice every place I've been.) I'm not a real estate agent or anything, but if you like, I'll mail you a copy of our local Homes magazine with lots of local listings. Just let me know. I wish you the best in finding that perfect place to raise your family.

• breezyb
    18 years ago