Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marooned_gw

Thinking of buying some goats

marooned
17 years ago

In the next few months I will be moving from California to Oklahoma. My family owns 40 acres, and they are giving me 10 acres to transform into a small farm. But the land they are giving me is completely overgrown with bush and trees because no one has been using it for decades.

I've read that goats will clear the land for me, and even save me the horror of removing all the poison oak by hand. But never having owned goats before, I have a few questions:

1. How much do they cost on average?

2. Where can I find some to purchase?

3. How many will I need to clear 10 acres and how long will it take them?

I also read that after the goats do their thing I can use pigs to finish the job and fertilize the land. What's the average price for pigs?

Any advice would be much appreciated. Although I have plenty of experience gardening, I have absolutely no experience with farm animals.

Comments (13)

• huisjen
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

How long is a piece of string?

There are a lot of variables here that I can't answer, but I'll try anyway. Understand that I'm in Maine, and my answers are based on living here, not in Oklahoma.