Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sunniesue

Where are homesteaders going these days?

SunnieSue
9 years ago

I was reading through some of the older forums and just wonder if there are any areas of the US where homesteaders are finding inexpensive land and lower taxes in this current economic climate. Seems like there is so much info on the internet about cheap places to live that just isn't true. I would like to hear from some homesteaders who have started up recently and how their experiences have been. I am in Eastern Pennsylvania and where I live there is no hope of ever buying land between the taxes and land prices. I have a little money saved up and am wondering where to go. I have some experience homesteading and know the difficulties. I would supplement my income with employment. Just looking to be as self sufficient as possible and not have to pay rent, water, sewer, and high food bills. I would also like to know how you went about finding your property. I wonder if it would be better to run an ad in a local paper stating my needs than running around with a realtor bidding on properties other people already made offers on. Any advice is appreciated.

Comments (4)

• dreamgarden
    9 years ago

I was looking for property similar to this. I read all I could to see what areas might be best.

One book in particular stands out in helping me define what I was looking for. What I learned is that some places are beautiful, but the natives not so much. Some neighborhoods will welcome you with open arms. New housing developments, whatever. Other places like some neighborhoods in New England never seem to accept newcomers. No matter how long they live there.....