Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sheila_adams_gw

I'm now making homemade soap

Sheila_Adams
21 years ago

I found some recipes to make homemade lye soap that is so easy.Would anyone like some info??

Comments (28)

• prairie_rose
    21 years ago

Sheila,

I had a recipe years ago, but lord only knows what I have done with it. I would like to see yours, think it would be a neat project to start. My understanding is that it gets better with age, it has to cure, and I think I heard somewhere that it should cure for a year. If so, it would make neat Xmas gifts for next year if I made some this year.

Rose

• daughternature
    21 years ago

Sheila, can you list a couple of the recipes here? I would be interested in seeing them and I'm sure others would too. Had you made soap before or is this your first batch?

• Sheila_Adams
    Original Author
    21 years ago

I'm going to list it when I get a few minutes.This is my first try.The recipe advises you let in rest for 3 weeks.My first batch was ify???But the second batch looks really nice.These recipes I got from 4 different library books and are very easy.You mix water and lye let it cool to room temp.you also melt tallow(I used lard from my fry daddy-this worked well).When both are room temperatue you add the oil(I use reg.veggie oil)you can mix cinnamon and scented oil to the veggie oil.Mix tallow and lye,stir,stir,stir then add oil mixture.Poured into glass baking dish.When starting to set up cut.Then leave 24 hours.Remove pur onto cardboard flat.Leave to cure.

• lindag
    21 years ago

Shelia injoy the soap makeing, I sure did . Soap makeing is great fun and addictive, I have enough for 6 years. I made mostly goat milk soap.
    I smell real good and I am sqeaky clean. LOL