Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
trudyjean82

Does it count if.....

trudyjean82
21 years ago

If u don't have a garden, but still do the canning, and putting up does that count as homesteading? T

Comments (11)

• farmyardacres
    21 years ago

Yes, trudyjean, if you want to be considered a homesteader then you are a homesteader. I consider myself one and I'm just starting out, I don't even have my land cleared yet. kathyjo

• robocop
    21 years ago

i just signed on to this new forum today and already responded to one question. I have one now. Are there any men that use it. I seem to be in the minority here. Not that i can't learn from a woman as well as i man. I was just curious. Ladies have a nice day. Great hearing you exchange ideas.

• Jwj__
    21 years ago

Robocop
    I am sure that as others find the forum you will find other gents in residence,, But that said let me be the first to say welcome,,, I know that if my husband should bounce in with input it will be much differnt then my own since we do alot of differnt jobs around our kingdom,,he is my chainsaw welding rototiller guy,, ok ok so I also force the man and his poor children to fish and hunt on a few occasions pick berries,,as well..

• bruceNH
    21 years ago

Hey robocop, got something against lady homesteaders! I have been reading threads but have not ventured in, noticed jwj was around. Watch out for jwj, she is trouble! Watch what you say!

• Marie_TX
    21 years ago

Welcome to the forum, Robo. I think if you read "Cold Mountain" by Charles Frazier you see a woman homesteader in full action. If she were alive today, she no doubt would not have time to visit online forums, but she would have a lot to contribute if she did. By the way, I understand they're making a movie of that book and Nicole Kidman is playing the part. What a riot!! -- Marie

• thefarmMe
    21 years ago

Man is here.

• westbrook
    21 years ago

T...