Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
andy3rd

Convert 'Backyard Barn' to livable Mini-Cabin?

Andy3rd
21 years ago

Just how much work would it take to convert one of those Backyard Barn type structures into a livable Mini-cabin?

No utilities or electricity- just weathersealing, insulation, interior paneling, etc.

Anyone ever do this or investigated the possissibility?

Comments (3)

• composts
    21 years ago

Yes, I already have one.

Though I did not build it, I looks simple. As an Engineer I can also tell you where you will need to Stiffen the structure to meet your needs. We have some week spots that drive me NUTS!!!

The cabin we have is built around a clasic bran style shead with the hipped roof. There is a poarch on the front and a seperate bed room on one end.

But before I get into this project, would you answer a few questions?

1) Are you modifing a shed you already own?
    ---- If you are buying then there are better options for the same money and a lot less effort.

2) Is this shed on site or be moved there?
    3) What is the ground like?
    4) Is this a weekend cabin or full time housing?
    5) What part of the world are you planning to put this cabin?

Bottom line: Yes you can have a very nice livable cabin.
    But let's get the best answer for where you.

• Andy3rd
    Original Author
    21 years ago

Yes, I already have one.
    Though I did not build it, I looks simple. As an Engineer I can also tell you where you will need to Stiffen the structure to meet your needs. We have some week spots that drive me NUTS!!!

The cabin we have is built around a clasic bran style shead with the hipped roof. There is a poarch on the front and a seperate bed room on one end.

But before I get into this project, would you answer a few questions?

1) Are you modifing a shed you already own?
    ---- If you are buying then there are better options for the same money and a lot less effort.

1)I was planning to buy.
    2)Right now it is nowhere-see #1.