Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adamsp1989_gw

Homesteading beginner

Adamsp1989
11 years ago

Hello all!

I'm new to this site, my mom sent me here to get great information from everyone! I am in need of information for homesteading, dipping the toes into it at first then I'd like to expand. Any tips, or things you wish someone had told you prior to diving in? I'd like to have a large garden, chickens and goats. Nothing too extreme right out of the gate but if anyone has any tips that they could share, I'd greatly appreciate it.

We are a family of 4, living in the new England area and we are looking to buy a house with some land... 2 acres??

Thanks so much!

Comments (3)

• happy-camper
    11 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'm still a newbie myself, headed for my third growing season, but here's the biggest lesson I found out the hard way: Start small! You sound like you're going about it the right way, "dipping the toes into it at first" and then expanding.

I tried to grow a little bit of everything (two-page, two-column, typed list of plants/varieties!), plus had five different species of animals on the farm from almost day one. Epic fail! I'll be starting over again from scratch this spring, with lots of lessons under my belt.

Besides starting small, here are some other lessons I've learned:

* Fencing is expensive but absolutely necessary, no way around it. Not only are you fencing your livestock IN, but you're fencing predators OUT. (And fences are never 100% effective.) Garden fences are a must or all you'll grow in your garden is venison. AND deer fences have to be 10 feet tall! This year, I'm not trying to fence the deer out at all--I'm going to simply fence a dog IN, and hope he chases the deer away without messing up my raised beds!