Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dansgrdn

What's your favorite thing about gardening?

dansgrdn
16 years ago

Guess I'm just in the mood to talk. I've always had hobbies, and I usually get a little carried away with them, but there is something about gardening that's just special. What do you love best about gardening?

Here are a couple of my favorite things:

#1 Searching local nurseries and finding something rare that you've been looking for or something that just calls to you. Most recent things in this category:

Looking for- "Sum and Substance" (I know I'm a newbie)

found today- 3 gallon, 7 eyes, 50% off at reputable nursery $12.00

Things that call to you- Yesterday, purchased H. 'On Stage'

wasn't looking for it , but I love it.

#2 Watering your garden- There is something very tranquil and relaxing about watering, I swear my blood pressure goes down.

#3 While you're watering, having an idea of inpiration pop into your head. A design idea, a new plant addition etc.

I'm sure I could come up with more, but I'm curious what your favorite things about gardening are.

Dan

Comments (19)

• hosta_freak
    16 years ago

Maybe just the tranquility of it. Also,the anticipation of spring,when all your hostas planted the previous year come up for the first time in your garden. In my garden,it is so peaceful,because it is so quiet,you can hear birds wings as they fly through. The thrill of finding a new hosta that you don't already have,and taking it home to plant in your garden. Just a few thoughts that come to my mind. Phil

• aka_margo
    16 years ago

I also love the hunt. Finding something unexpected, especially when it's at a local nursery. A couple of weeks ago I was at a local nursery and picked up 'Lakeside Looking Glass'. The young kid running the register thought it was a plain green hosta so he gave it to me for $5.95. I laughed all the way home, and then thought I should have found out what days he works there...lol!