Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jel48

Your best apple recipes - looking for something different

jel48
15 years ago

Hi everyone! We bought a bushel of apples last weekend. I'm planning to put some in the freezer, if we don't eat them all up before then, that is :-) So far, I've made dehydrated apples and apple crisp. What I'd like is to try some different apple recipes. Something I've never tried before. I've done apple crisp, apple cobbler, and apple pie, so am only interested in those recipes if there is something 'different' about them.

What else do you have for favorite apple recipes???

Joyce

Comments (26)

• mctavish6
    15 years ago

Do you ever make Waldorf Salad? We like it and it's easy. Cut up apples, celery and small pieces of walunt. Stir in mayonaise (only Best Foods/Hellmans will do). Chill for a while before you eat it.

Some people add raisins or even pineapple but I don't. McT

• jel48
    Original Author
    15 years ago

McT, that's a great idea! I've made that in the past but had forgotten all about it. Thanks!

• chevy57red
    15 years ago

Joyce
    This is one that goes over well with the kids...
    Dice up the apples.
    Add frozen broken up Snickers bars and mix both with Cool Whip.

• jel48
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Yummmm....... Thanks, Sheila! That sounds tasty.

Gary and I are both sitting in the office playing 'computer' for a bit on Saturday morning before we head out elsewhere. After I read your recipe, first I had to explain about our day at the hosta dig at the aboretum, then read him the recipe :-) That was really a nice day.

• lindac
    15 years ago

This never fails to elicit OOHS and AAHS.

Apple Cake

4 cups chopped apples
    1 ½ cups sugar ( can use ½ splenda)
    ½ cup raisins ( I use chopped other fruit like dried peaches or apricots or craisins)
    Mix and let sit for about an hour ( less is OK)
    2 cups flour
    1 ½ tsps baking soda ( I like ¾ tsps soda and ¾ tsps BP)
    ¾ tsps salt