Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hey_j

So--do you wonder.....?(graphic)

Janice
16 years ago

Do you wonder--if you receive a hosta, that eventually shows signs of

having A LOT of nematodes ----

if the *person* who sent it, to you, really couldn't know it had them ??? {{gwi:893799}}

{{gwi:893800}}

Comments (10)

• Hosta_Haven
    16 years ago

Janice,

I've been growing hostas for over 30 years and I have to be honest and admit...before joining this forum early this year, I really had never heard of foliar nematodes, let alone what they looked like. I'm sure if I had them before this year (and I bet I did since almost all of the ones with "todes" were 3+ years old), I thought it was just the August Uglies!

Now that I do know what they look like, I'm treating them as best I can and making notes in my Hosta Data file so I don't give/trade them with anyone. Happily, the ones that it did show up in this August were not given to anyone earlier this year (divisions of). I would hate the thought I gave infected plants to my friends!

What I'm trying to say is...yes, it could have been full of nematodes and maybe they really didn't know. Ahh, for the days of blissful ignorance when growing hostas was no work at all and no worries!

Char

• anitamo
    16 years ago

I agree, it was so much easier before I knew anything about the troubles that could plague hostas. It goes the other way too, I could have gotten some from someone, or bought them, and just didn't recognize what they were. I never had enough to give away from my garden, but I could have bought infected ones as gifts, though.

I was reading a past issue of Fine Gardening (2004), and they had an article warning hosta growers of HVX. They called it new, yet, in the article it mentioned that HVX was first discovered in 1998 (or 1996, can't remember now.) If that's the case, why didn't we hear about it on a wider scale until a few years ago?

• ademink
    16 years ago