Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
samnsarah

When do hostas start emerging?

Tim
12 years ago

I am new to hosta gardening. I planted four Blue Angel hostas last fall in full shade, but they haven't started to emerge from the ground yet. I searched the American Hosta Society and Hosta Library websites, but I couldn't find any information. Does anyone know when hostas are supposed to start emerging from the ground in South-central Kansas? I see daffodils and tulips in full bloom everywhere, but my hostas are still sleeping snugly in the ground. Is it too early for hostas to start poking their eyes through the top of the soil yet? If so, approximately when should I see the new growth?

Comments (39)

• Tim
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Okay, I did find some information from eHow.com. The article said hostas emerge in the Spring anywhere from late April to early June. Can anyone confirm this?

Here is a link that might be useful: eHow.com

• hosta_freak
    12 years ago

Depends on where you live. That stat may be true for up north,but my hostas start coming up in early March,and this year,almost all of them are up now,due to the warmer-than-normal late winter and spring. BTW,Blue Angel and any of the big blue hostas are always late coming up here. My Blue Angel is peeking thru the leaves now. Phil

• Steve Massachusetts
    12 years ago

Let them sleep as long as they like. If you are zone 6a you don't want them up yet. Do you know what is your average final frost date in your area? Usually a County Cooperative Extension service or a local land grant college will have this information. I'm in zone 5b and my final frost date is usually May 15th. I'd prefer not to have my Hosta fully leafed out until that time. This year they may be earlier than that.

Steve

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

no we cant give you an answer for your garden...