Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suneee

Help with bed

stoc zone 6 sweden
11 years ago

I'm wondering if I am doing this right. I am going to have beds that run on the edge of lawn,
I have been digging and am finding lots of tree roots.Some place I can't get the shovel down much more than around 6-7 inches.There is a White Birch tree,another flowering tree,don't know it's name.And several small trees on the edge of the property line.

I plan on amending the soil with about 3 inches of new topsoil,3 inches of compost and 3 inches of this stuff called Barkmull. Which is used as a soil conditioner. I am not going to do anything under the Birch tree as I don't want it to get any ideas!

So even if I can dig down in some spots,will those 9 inches be enough if you add on the 6 that I can get the shovel in?

I also remember seeing someone mention that some hostas cope better with tree roots.Which ones?

I just want some reassurance as I am new to this and want to make the best possible place for my hostas.
Any input would be appreciated.

Comments (19)

• MadPlanter1 zone 5
    11 years ago

The amending is great, the tree roots aren't. I've been fighting with mine for a couple years. They actually grow through the hosta's roots and suck up all the water and fertilizer I give the hostas. You can carefully cut a big circle around each hosta a couple times a year trying to sever all the tree roots, dig them up every coulple years and remove tree roots, let them fend for themselves, or plant in spin out bags. They're made of a fabric that repels tree roots. Turn them inside out for hostas- dig a hole, fit the bag in, fill with amended soil, and plant your hosta. They're supposed to be used to keep trees in pots from getting root bound. What you want is to keep the roots out of the pot, so the repellant side goes out.

Can't tell you which ones tolerate roots, but I'm sure the experts on the forum know.

Here is a link that might be useful: Spin out bags

• stoc zone 6 sweden