Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
teresabenefit

growing from a single root

TeresaBenefit
11 years ago

I recently bought a new home and the yard is lacking in the garden department. I'm new to gardening also and can't afford to just go out and buy a whole slew of grown plants. I found some hosta roots. The package contains 7 single roots. I planted them in the yard but how long is it going to take for them to look like a plant? Right now they just look like a leave or two poking from the ground! I also bought another two packs (so 14 roots) that I want to plant in some pots on the front deck with some astilbe in the center. Any chance that will look ok?

Comments (8)

• Steve Massachusetts
    11 years ago

Not for about 6 years, if they survive. Am I correct in assuming that you bought a bag full of small bareroot Hosta? First of all it will take a very long time for them to gain a decent size. Secondly, you will be very lucky if those plants are healthy. You would be much better off buying Hosta Liners. Try hostaliners.com. Those plants will be small, but at least they will be guaranteed virus free and nematode free.

Steve

• User
    11 years ago

Hi, Teresa. I see you joined GardenWeb today.Welcome to the forums.

If your new home is in an established neighborhood where gardens are fully grown in, sometimes you can find folks living close by who have some big clumps of hosta.

I highly recommend that you take a walk around your streets and watch for folks out working in the garden. If they have hostas planted, stop and chat with them. We do that on a regular basis down here, and I discovered that folks up north are more friendly than they are given credit for too. My DH (Dear Husband) has populated his neighborhood for the last 40 + years with some of the dark green-white margined hosta, and you may find someone nearby who will give some of their extra plants to you too.