Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bkay2000

Does this look like HVX?

bkay2000
12 years ago

This looks odd to me. Does it look like HVX to you?

I also know that I'm not the only one with "holy" hosta.

bkay

The Royal Standard really looks bad.

{{gwi:967559}}

{{gwi:967561}}

This may be a photo of the same plant, as I had my Mom with me and could not concentrate on the hosta.

{{gwi:967563}}

This could be sunburn as it's on the top leaves only, but it seems early for sunburn.

{{gwi:967565}}

{{gwi:967566}}

{{gwi:967569}}

I don't know what this plant might be. It has red stems and the names ends in "art"

{{gwi:967571}}

Comments (19)

• Gesila
    12 years ago

I don't know about the HVX, but the last hosta is Purple Heart.

• Johnsp
    12 years ago

I'm not an expert either but I don't see any sunken areas that occur as the virus causes the cellulose which supports the tissue to collapse creating sunken areas in the foliage. Again though I'm not an expert.

Scott

• thisismelissa
    12 years ago

That looks like cold damage to me.

• bkay2000
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I don't think we've had any cold.

On the Royal Standard - there are three plants there and only one has the bleeding.

bkay

• Pieter zone 7/8 B.C.
    12 years ago

The 'Royal Standard' looks like it has ink bleeding and I'd consider it very suspect. The 'Forest Fire' looks sun burnt -and slug damaged-, the 'Purple Heart' also looks suspect, a close-up of the leaves at the 7.30 and 12 position will provide some more detail and hopefully a definitive answer, its veinal pattern could be ink bleed or possibly a form of chlorosis....

Pieter

• Steve Massachusetts
    12 years ago