Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thisismelissa

Do you grow 'Gentle Giant' ?

thisismelissa
12 years ago

I have 'Gentle Giant' coming this week.

And I'm making plans for what hostas are going to move into the new front bed. So since this one is listed on the Sun Tolerant Hosta List, I would like to consider it. I've determined the bed gets direct sun til 9am, dappled sun 9am-11am, full sun 11am-3pm and shade from there.

So, if you grow it, how much sun do you have it in? any scorch?

how well does it retain its blue?

has it been a fast grower?

Comments (7)

• aahostas
    12 years ago

this,
    I have been growing it for two years now.This year it has began to hold its leaves more upright and the leaves are much larger...I wouldn't call it blue, more like a waxy medium green color. Mine gets around 4 hours of morning sun and maybe two hours of pm sun. I haven't noticed any burning so far. It is supposed to get very large and appears to grow a little faster than E. Wu.I had the space and loved the name. Always room for another big green monster!

Denny

• aka_margo
    12 years ago

This is my second year with Gentle Giant. I would say that mine gets sun at least half of the day, and there is no scorch on it at all. As you can see mine stays pretty blue.
    Jen

• thisismelissa
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I planted mine in full sun back in June and it looks fantastic. I can't wait for it to grow up!

• Gesila
    12 years ago

Great Melissa, I just got mine and need some green to go with all the golds and sum and sumstance sports I have in my sunny bed. Sounds like Gentle Giant is a go.

Gesila

• patty_sue
    9 years ago