Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dolivo_gw

bare root planting question

dolivo
11 years ago

Hi All! First time Hosta newbie here! I just got 20 bare root hosta plants. I've never planted anything bare root before this; so I really had NO idea what I was doing!

I planted them in two different shady areas. the first area I planted first I put everything (meaning the roots AND those little white pointy things - sorry I don't know what they are called-) under the soil. A good inch under the soil.

Then I got paranoid that I did it wrong. So the second area I planted them in I left just a tiny bit of the tip of those white pointy things sticking up above the soil.

Please, which way is right? does it matter? If I planted the first section wrong (too far under the soil) should I dig them up right away and replant them? or will they work their way up and out ok?

thanks for any help!

Comments (10)

• Steve Massachusetts
    11 years ago

Welcome dolivo. Do you know what the cultivar names of the Hosta are? Where did you buy them from?

Here's a general guide for planting from one of the best online nurseries.

"General Crown Depth

Mini: 1/2", Small: 1", Medium: 1 1/2", Large: 2", Giant: 2 1/2" (from surface to the top of crown or base of the eyes) Note: Dormant hostas should not have any eyes showing after planting since dormant buds only grow below the surface. Some plants grow eyes horizontally and these should always be buried completely. Red stemmed hostas should be planted about 1/2" deep as they are more sensitive to rot from moist or compact soil."

The link is below. Take a look.

Here is a link that might be useful: Hallson Hosta Growing Information

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

in my z5 MI.. the 'pips' are all above ground ...

if you look close on a bare root plant .. you will see roots ... and you will see pips/eyes ...