Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kenh2010

unusual sum and substance

kenh2010
11 years ago

I've been growing hostas for five years or so and when I went to a local retail garden center today I found an unusual looking hosta. It was with a group of Sum and Substance hostas, labeled as one, same color but none of the leaves have petioles. It looks somewhat like a cabbage or buttercrunch type lettuce. No leaf stems whatsoever. Has anyone ever heard of such a thing? Thought it might be a mutation or perhaps a disease thing. I bought it anyway, hoping for the mutation or sport, but was wondering what info anyone might have. Leave are almost round without stems. Thanks for your help. Just found your part of this site and am looking forward to learning a lot more. Found a hosta nursery in Salt Lake that we are going to visit next week - can't wait! Ken

Comments (24)

• User
    11 years ago

Ken, glad you found the site. It would help a lot if you could take a picture of this plant. GWeb now allows you to upload a file to your post but it must be less than 250kb in size. This is a good arrangement if you do not already have an account for online albums like Flickr or Photobucket.

I do not know enough about hosta to offer any help, but come morning I bet others will pitch in. Especially with a picture to look at.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

hey.. another ken

this happens.. when a hosta is planted too deep ... making it grow like a leek ...

there has to be petioles ... its genetic .. leaving the only presumption.. that they are buried ...

one would think that genetics of hosta allow color changes.. sports/reversions ... but i have never heard of missing parts of the plant as a whole ...

also.. if it was very young .... the manipulation of hormones in the TC process.. could mess it up .. but it usually outgrows such weirdness ...

i would love to see a pic ...

ken