Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nomorebluekitchen

Basic hosta care (help a newbie out!)

nomorebluekitchen
11 years ago

Hi,

Can anyone recommend a web page, forum post, or book dedicated to teaching a beginner how to care for her hostas?

I'm fairly new to hosta (2 years) and have fallen in love. I inherited hundreds of boring ones, but over the past two years I have bought some special, beautiful ones. I want more, of course!

My problem is that the hostas I already have aren't that healthy. I have a variety of issues (most pest and rabbit related) so that not one looks like the lovely photos I see here. Before I invest more $$$ in more special plants, I want to make sure I'm caring well for these I own.

I searched the forum and FAQ for book recommendations but I'm not interested in an encyclopedia or a very expensive pictorial guide to hosta varieties; I really need a basic how-to.

Any recommendations would be helpful.

Some of my questions are:

- what preventative actions should I take to keep the pests from destroying my hosta? (For rabbits, I have Rabbit Scram which works if I reapply. But there are slugs and other critters chewing, too. Do I need to identify each creature, or is there something I can do that is a broad control?)

- do I remove damaged leaves or leave them so they can help strengthen the root system?

- common signs and symptoms of problems. For example, I have some inherited hosta that are developing crispy brown edges. I am thinking these NOIDs are getting too much sun. I might post pictures here to get advice, but I also would love to have a resource in my hands as I'm walking the line in the mornings.

Thanks for any suggestions for books, webpages, or specific forum posts with care instructions!

Anita

Comments (14)

• bkay2000
    11 years ago