Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
littlebug5_gw

I'm a Newbie - Pots?

littlebug5
10 years ago

I have been cruising this site and admiring the beautiful hostas some of you have and was interested to see that apparently some of your hostas actually live in pots. I have never seen that done before.

I have grown various hostas over the years, but always in the ground. What do I need to know about growing in pots? What do you do about winter? I assume the hostas need to rest. I am in zone 5.

I was thinking about trying a hosta in a pot on my front porch. My front porch faces east so the pot would get full sun from sunrise till probably 9 a.m.

Could someone give me some recommendations?

Comments (10)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

hi

welcome .....

if you read thru all 60 pages of posts.. you will find all the answers .. lol .. what??? .. you dont have a month to do that ... thats what you were supposed to be doing all winter ... lol ...

how about this ... to get you started.. we can worry about winter storage in late november .. eh ...

the most important thing that goes in the pots is the MEDIA ... no dirt.. no soil ...

and that is the question that you should have asked.. and i will leave it to the pot peeps to answer ....

after that.. insert hosta.. preferably roots down.. but that might not even matter ...

good luck

ken

• littlebug5
    Original Author
    10 years ago

What do you mean by media? You don't use soil?

• Janice
    10 years ago