Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suneee

Hostagasm

I don't know what else to call it.I am a newbie and this is my 2nd year--it has been so exciting the past few days,we have had lots of warm weather and sun.I swear the hostas are growing from morning to evening,is this possible?

We get a lot of light this time of year and soon we will have almost 24 hours(Stockholm,Sweden).So don't know if this growth rate is normal or what.I am very happy with how big some of my 2nd year plants are and a lot are still unfurling.

Here is a pic of Great Expectations.

James

Comments (12)

• stoc zone 6 sweden
    Original Author
    9 years ago

A pic of Abliqua Drinking Gourd

• Jon 6a SE MA
    9 years ago

I remember your gardens from last year James. The GE and Gourd are looking great. You should have some really nice gardens as the Summer goes on

Jon

• User
    9 years ago

The Gourd with sunlight backlighting it, has a mosaic tiled look to the leaf. Never observed that before. You have a fine camera.

When you have one of those 24 hour days, when do you sleep?
    Do you have a twilight to go take pictures? Do you have a DAWN?

Never thought about the length of day affecting the annual growth and maturity of the hosta, but I suppose you have the cooler version of a longer day such as we have here...only HOTTER. I'll have to meditate on that subject for a while.

Perhaps the longer growing season (for us) can add up to more age/maturity for the hosta? And with your longer day (albeit a shorter growing season), they grow more quickly as well....with more maturity a possibility as well.

Interesting concept.

• DelawareDonna
    9 years ago

They are lovely interspersed with the pansies.

DD

• gardenweed_z6a
    9 years ago