Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
don_in_colorado

HVX Rears Its Ugly Head

don_in_colorado
10 years ago

Went to a local nursery to get some pots, and of course went to browse a bit. This is the first time they've ever carried Hostas, and boy their first items offered for sale were unfortunate. This 'Sum and Substance' jumped up and SCREAMED at me. I've seen HVX at big box stores plenty of times, but this is the most screamingly obvious I've seen in person. What's worse is when I showed the store manager and explained HVX in a nutshell, he said 'OK well, thanks' and just walked away. Didn't get the impression he cared, (ya think)?? So I didn't care to buy anything there, so I just left. Too bad. Most of the 'S&S' looked like that, and a few other varieties were showing as well. D*mn shame.
'Greenleaf' was listed as the grower on the tag.

Anyway, I'm just a newbie, so what do I know, right?

Don B.

Comments (24)

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Virused 'Sum and Substance' probably infecting the 'Halcyon' right next to it, grown by a different company.

• mosswitch
    10 years ago

Uh oh. More Greenleaf hostas with HVX. They had that problem last year too. You can find them on the internet, let them know. They had tp recall some last year because of it.

Sandy

• mosswitch
    10 years ago

Would be interesting to know which of their locations those hostas came from. The ones in Missouri I think were from Park Hill,Oklahoma.They were Gold Standard. But do report it to them, they need to know.

http://www.greenleafnursery.com/index.cfm/fuseaction/home.contact/index.htm

Sandy

• Gesila
    10 years ago

Call or email these guys and let them know. I have the email address for the man in charge of inspections in both the counties near me. I email him the name of the reseller as well as pictures.

Here's the contact info:

Here is a link that might be useful: Colorado Department of Agriculture

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author