Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ella_2012

How many eyes would you expect to get if you bought a CLUMP?

Ella_2012
11 years ago

Hello all!

I am new to a wonderful world of Hosta, and probably my question is silly...

What is a giant hosta clump to you? What is the definition of the size/number of eyes?

I am asking because I bought two Sagae (and few others) that were listed as 'clumps'.

I received them in a mail today. To be honest, I am disappointed but may be I am wrong and it suppose to be that way.

One Sagae has three eyes, and another one has four. Roots are very good as far as I understand, 'bushy' and long. Plants were about 22" tall before shipment...a little shorter now, some leave were broken off during their trip. Plants were not cheap at all...I should mention that two other clumps of Guacamole and Fried Green Tomatoes are HUGE (I did not even expect to see them that large!) and I that confuses me even more...why the are so different in size?

So, what do you all think? Am I upset over nothing? And clumps of a giants are really 3-4 eyes?

Comments (17)

• Steve Massachusetts
    11 years ago

I think it depends on the size of the eyes. If you got four eyes that were each thicker than your thumb with a few vestigal shoot that will develop into eyes next year, then I would be satisfied.

In any case wasn't there a description of what you were getting for your $$?

Steve

• Ella_2012
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you for your answer, Steve!
    I feel better now. Yes, eyes are about as thick as my thumb.
    I placed an order over the phone and I asked about the size of clumps, and was told - ''multiple eyes''. That is so true for Guacamole and Fried GT! They hardly fit in a medium size buckets! :))

• hostaLes
    11 years ago

Ella-I don't have this years photos yet because of a health issue. This is my Sagae from last year, with only 2 thumb size eyes and two teeny ones, like Steve explained. This spring it has 5 thumbies.