Return to the Hosta Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
NOID help

Posted by garybr none (My Page) on
Thu, May 3, 12 at 22:16

Hi, my name is Gary and I'm quickly becoming a hostaholic! All of you here have enabled me for a while, and I'm finally ready to admit that I have a problem.
I'm certain that you will be able to help me identify two of my NOIDs. The first one was one of the first Hostas that I acquired when I thought there were only two varietys out there. Thanks in advance for your help, and for fueling my addiction!
Two photos of each

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: NOID help

The first one in Undulata Medio Picta.

Alexa

o

I think the second one is a very young Paradigm. 15 vein pairs. Leave are chartreuse in the Spring and should turn gold later with dark greenish/blue margins.

Steve

o

Alexa,

I have been struggling for years to sort out naming for 'undulata'. I studied the picture and decided it was undulata univittata due to 3-tones of color and approximately 1/3 white center. Appreciate your logic for suggesting medio picta.

Thanks

Tom.

o

I don't agree with Alexa. When I look at the pics in the Hosta Library, I think U Medio Picta has a much narrower white center than Gary's and lacks the chartreuse between the white and green. I think Gary's is the one known just as Undulata; I used to hear the term Undulata Variegata, but apparently that's incorrect.

I agree that the second is likely Paradigm. We all know the first one is easy to find at any store; since Paradigm became a hosta of the year, it, too, is easy to find so a probable candidate for this NOID. Nance

o

To correct my post above, it is most likely undulata univittata - it is most similar to that in the HL photos... sorry I was posting before coffee this morning. Of course, you can call it Fred if you want... it really is just a common undulata.

Alexa

o

"Of course, you can call it Fred if you want... it really is just a common undulata."