Return to the Hosta Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Identify Disease Free Nurseries

Posted by Obar 5b (My Page) on
Wed, May 30, 12 at 22:50

How can I tell if a nursery tests for diseases and is guarenteed disease free?

While I've been gardening for a couple years, I've only recenlty discovered the huge varieties of hostas available! And HVX. I'm starting a shade bed that will be mostly hostas. The handful I bought from big box stores luckily stayed in their pot and were easily returned. Now I need to find some reliable sources.

Other posts indicate Hallson. So much is already out of stock. How about Land of the Giants Hosta Farm? At the bottom of their home page is a link to their health certificate... but I don't understand what it means. Land of the Giants is HUGE. And they're in my state! I can drive there!

Thanks for any insight!
Nikki

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Identify Disease Free Nurseries

• Posted by babka 9b NorCal (My Page) on
    Wed, May 30, 12 at 23:08

Here you go. Click on the Link below.

-Babka

Here is a link that might be useful: Where to buy Hostas

o

I just talked to Chris at Hallson's about ordering. He is getting ready to redo availability and add a lot back in. If there are some you are interested in, email him and he can tell you if he has any nice ones.

o

I think Hallson's like a lot of us, and many other nurseries, suffered a lot from frost damage this Spring. Take a look at this pic of Spartacus.

Spartacus yr1

You can see a little frost damage in a leaf on the left hand side. There were a few more leaves that were removed. But it's still a beautiful plant for one that arrived a few weeks ago. Chris, without my asking, reduced the price of this plant (and one other) to half! Most other places would have charged full price for a plant that looks that good. That's the kind of integrity you are dealing with in Hallson's.

Email him. He's not going to sell you anything you won't be satisfied with.

Steve

o