Return to the Hosta Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How To Ship Hostas?

Posted by triciae Zone 7 Coastal SE CT (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 1, 07 at 7:13

I'm sending 3 large 'Sum & Substance' hostas in a trade. I've never done this before. How do I prepare the hostas for shipping? My plan is to dig, wash off all of the dirt, allow to air dry a bit, wrap in damp newspaper, & pack.

What I'm unsure of is whether I should cut off the leaves? The leaves, obviously on 'S&S' are large. Best to remove them?

Oh, I'm shipping 2-Day Air from CT to MA. Our weather forecast for the next few days is mid to upper-70's.

Many thanks,
Tricia

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How To Ship Hostas?

there is a picture of packing at the post linked below ..

i wouldnt let them dry at all ...

2 day air from connectadot to massachewsitz?????? only if you have extra money ... try to get them to the post office by shipping time today ... they will be fine.... when they type in the zip code.. they can tell you delivery date .... make decision then ...

WRITE ON TH BOX TO LEAVE IT IN SHADE, presuming the rcpient will not be home .....

the PO offer free shipping containers.. per the picture ....

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

o

Wrap the roots & crown in wet paper towels, then put a plastic bag around the wrapped portion. A detailed link is below.

Here is a link that might be useful: clicky

o

Hey Tricia!

Yep - ken is correct. Don't dry them at all. I dig, wash, wrap in damp paper towels or newspaper, then plastic wrap or bags. Put the whole thing on a sheet of newspaper and roll like a sub sandwich. That will protect the leaves a bit. Yes, I know they are huge, but as long as the "stems" can carry water to the leaf then I think it is a benefit.

Place in a box and ship Priority on a MOn/Tues. THey should be there by Wed/Thurs.

Alexa

o

• Posted by triciae Zone 7 Coastal SE CT (My Page) on
    Fri, Jun 1, 07 at 9:09