Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kisher

Pics from my gardens (pic heavy)

kisher
12 years ago

I have been enjoying the forum for about 4 years now, and it is time for me to share some of my gardens.

I am retired and love to spend hours in the yard trying to make it look better.

I have completely re-landscaped the back yard in the last 30 years, bit by bit, including putting in the brick walkway 20 years ago.

These are some views of the backyard.

The house and yard is next to a relatively steep ravine.

Hostas have become my passion the last 5 years.

My biggest problem now is where to put them!

A partial solution. Works great.

They overwinter in the garage and do well.

And finally, a garden escapee! Happens often.

(Check out the red foxglove in middle of picture)

Comments (37)

• coralb
    12 years ago

Your hostas are lovely!

• hosta_junkie
    12 years ago

What a peaceful place! Thanks for sharing pics of your lovely setting.

• donrawson
    12 years ago

Welcome to the hosta forum...your gardens and brick pathway are absolutely gorgeous!

• aka_margo
    12 years ago

Wow! Beautiful, Love the brickwork.
    Jen

• Cher
    12 years ago

Your gardens and setting are lovely and so peaceful. You have some great Hostas.
    Cher

• susie53_gw
    12 years ago

I'm jealous! Your gardens are breath taking!!

• jroot
    12 years ago

Beautiful, indeed.

Like you, I have a property which is partially in bush. Mine is cedar, and I have been toying with the idea of extending the garden into the bush, - possibly using hostas, etc. The rest of the property is so full of gardens, there is not much grass to cut, and that is the way I like it.

Can you recommend any other plants other than hostas which might do well in the Full Shade of a zone 4/5 garden? I'd appreciate any input that you have to share. I really like what I see here, and emulating it here would be sincere compliment to your work.

jroot1@cogeco.ca

• kentstar
    12 years ago