Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garnet69

Sow/Pill Bugs...GRRRR!

garnet69
10 years ago

All this damage to my Earth Angel was caused by these annoying little critters - I've seen them. I've been trying to trap them with bait but there are always more. I seem to have a lot of them in my garden this year. So frustrating.

Comments (8)

• mosswitch
    10 years ago

I've been fighting the darn things for a couple years, now. This year they ate all the bark off a young oak leaf hydrangea around the base, and of course, killed it. I understand that if you put out corn meal around the hostas ( not right next to them, but a circle a couple inches away) that they will eat it, and it stops up their digestive system. Can't swear to that, but I added diatomaceous earth to corn meal and put that out. Plus I put collars around my hostas, making sure there were no critters inside and there was bare earth in there, first. I haven't had any problems since, this year. I put the corn meal mix outside the collars.

They ate this young hosta right to the ground when the pips emerged, but it recovered when they could no longer get to it.

I used clear plastic cup tops, cut off and stuck into the ground a half inch or so, for the small ones, and now when I plant a bigger hosta, I cut the container off and use the top of it as a collar around the plant. Doesn't hurt the plant and the leaves soon cover the collar. It also seems to stop the cutworms.

This was the best solution for me, works so far. So far......

Sandy

• hostafreak
    10 years ago

You all must have some strange pill bugs! The only place I have ever seen them in my whole life,was under an object by the house,such as my watering cans. They live in moisture,and that's where they stay. Maybe you water your plants too much,creating the perfect environment for them? At any rate,I never see them in the garden,let alone eating my hostas. I don't know what else to tell you,except I'm sorry they are a problem for you. Phil