Return to the Hosta Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Minimum Hosta Temperature:

Posted by ishinaga 8a (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 5, 09 at 10:34

Greetings,

I'm a new member and I live in Texas, zone 8a. I'm in the middle of doing research regarding the feasibility of growing hosta in my area? Some have told me that hosta need to have a winter of temps. around 40 F. for 4-8 weeks? If this is the case, what are the reasons? Will they not come back, or will they just not come back strong with new growth? Physically, how does the winter low temps. effect the hosta plant? I have grown orchids for years and I know that a couple of weeks at around 55 F. will induce spikes because it stresses the plant and makes it return to work so to speak. What effect does the cold weather have on hosta?

Steve-TX

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Minimum Hosta Temperature:

the link is a good place to start

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

o

Welcome,
I have been growing hostas for about four years. They are a challenge, but they will grow. I have moved most of my hostas into containers with pine mulch as the medium. They go dormant in our zone in mid November or a little earlier if we have an early frost. Some of them begin to break dormancy as early as mid Feb. One of the disadvantages of pots is that they break dormancy several weeks earlier. The occasional warm day during the winter does not seem to cause too many problems as long as the night temperature stays down in the 30's or 40's. Once they start to grow, the late frosts are a real pain to deal with. I always cover mine because they have enough of a challenge in our climate. I do have some hostas that get smaller, but plenty of northern growers talk about that same problem. Water is the key, and I think that even a short amount of time without water will set back hostas in our climate. I watered three times last winter. I wonder if some of the ones that are smaller this spring might not have been overlooked when I watered. I