Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
almosthooked

hypertufa project

almosthooked zone5
10 years ago

This is my first attempt at making this cement based mix and wondering how long before I can move it onto the fountain when it is dry. I copied picture of the one from the forum I admired but for the life of me can't remember whose it was but thank you. It is a top for my new fountain which I will post the project in a separate posting. I was not sure what tools to use for carving out shape so is totally a learning project. Next I will try pots and the other interesting things that can be made. Any one else that i has done tufa projects? Post pictures please

Faye

Comments (26)

• sidney1515
    10 years ago

Wow! I love that. . .I am so devoid of creative ablility. I do love to look and admire the works of those with it. I hope this thread fills up fast.
    Great job!

• paul_
    10 years ago

Looks good! Just make sure you allow it to fully cure. When did you finish it? Typically for a thick piece, it can take a week or two to fully cure if memory serves. In the mean time, keep it constantly damp if not outright wet. (Easiest way for you from what I'm seeing will likely be to cover it with a bunch of wet towels and throughout the day wet the towels down as they get dry.) The longer it stays moist, the longer the chemical reaction can continue and the stronger the piece will be.

• User
    10 years ago

AlmostHooked, I put a link below to some very artistic hypertufa work done by Little and Lewis, formerly of Bainbridge Island WA. I hear they have finally moved to Mexico, but their creative efforts continue to grace the Internet.

The link is to GardenWeb posts etc. about them or by them.
    I have ONE of their cement works, the White Dove, and I really treasure it.

The work you did is a great first effort. Good job!

Here is a link that might be useful: Little and Lewis hypertufa google search

• coll_123
    10 years ago