Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
charlie44_gw

Online Purchase

Charlie44
11 years ago

I ordered these 2 hosta's online earlier in the week. They arrived yesterday looking like this. Is this common or am I just lucky ?

Comments (17)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    11 years ago

I have little online ordering experience, but have received 5 hosta from several different online places whose names many people would recognize, and all of mine arrived looking a lot perkier than that--from those in decent-sized square pots to bareroots wrapped in wet newspaper.

That's all I know--but I'd guess that if you watered yours well after planting them (and the pot has good drainage) and you place them in a shady part of your garden for a few days while they acclimate themselves to their new neighborhood, they may take off and do fine.

Lucky isn't good enough--I wish you GOOD luck! : )

Kate

• Hostarina
    11 years ago

Not common, Charlie! Accidents & the USPS delaying delivery happen, but that rough handling is disappointing... Were they wrapped securely? Being hostas, you know that plant will make it & be beautiful next year. I'd snip off the broken stem leaves.

• bkay2000
    11 years ago

Were they bare root? Did you soak them? Someone will probably suggest you tape them, no matter your answers to the other questions. To do that, hold the leaves together and tape them together with masking tape until they regain their turgidity.

Someone more knowledgeable than me will give you better answers, but will want to know the above.

bkay

• bkay2000
    11 years ago

Dont' snip off the leaves! Absolutely don't remove the leaves unless they wilt, even if they are half broken. They provide nutrients to the roots that will help nourish the plant for next year.