Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
paula_b_gardener5bon

question about generations

Hello,

I am no expert, nor do I pretend to be and I am sure that this question has a very basic answer: What is a first generation? Would that be the original plant found in the wild? The second generation would be the first plant/sport from the 'first one'?

No details, but I had someone call my Fire Island a 1st generation plant, I know that it was hybridized in 1998 so doesn't that immediately negate the possibility of it being 1st generation?

Thanks teachers :)

Comments (8)

• Steve Massachusetts
    10 years ago

Technically speaking the "first generation" sometimes referred to as f1, is the first set of progeny from a particular plant. If the parent plant is a species plant such as H. pycnophylla, then the f1 would be a hybrid. An example of a pycnophylla f1 would be Gilt by Association or Frisian Pride.

Fire Island is an f1 plant from H. longipes f. hypoglauca. So it is the first generation of a species plant.

Steve

• ademink
    10 years ago

...my mouth is hanging slightly ajar and I look like the lights are on, but nobody's home......but I *think* might have actually understood that. lol

• paula_b_gardener 5b_ON
    Original Author
    10 years ago

So, the person was right, Fire Island is First Generation. Thank you so much Steve, I appreciate you making the effort to sort that out for me.

Paula

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

your child.. is the first generation of you and your husband ... F1 ... a defined gene pool ...

her child would be the second generation.. or F2 .. but having the added gene pool of the spouse in that cross ...

it is a direct analogy ... nothing mysterious in it all.. except for the F designation ... which leads me to wonder... why F? ... going to spend the day mulling that one ...