another

• ConnieMay ON Z6a
    Original Author
    10 years ago

and finally...

(this is Golden Tiara BTW)

• MadPlanter1 zone 5
    10 years ago

I'm not an expert, and I'm sure you'll hear from them. It could be HVX. But there are other and worse viruses. HVX just means you have to kill the plant with herbicide, remove the leaves when dry, and not reuse the spot where it was planted. (This is assuming you've been careful about tool hygiene.) Some of the others spread more easily.

I don't know any way to tell for sure without testing - and at the price of HVX test strips, it might be cheaper to just replace Golden Tiara. If it's not too close to anything else, you could just take extreme sanitation precautions and see if it looks better next year. Personally, I'd be painting it with weedkiller.

• ctopher_mi
    10 years ago

Well, you wanted it to be anything but HVX, so what if I said it looks more like Tobacco Rattle Virus?

It is virus infected for certain, and you don't want it in your garden no matter which virus this is.

Sorry.

Chris

• MadPlanter1 zone 5
    10 years ago

Good information-

Here is a link that might be useful: hosta viruses

• ConnieMay ON Z6a
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you so much for your help!

looking up Tobacco Rattle Virus...
    yes - I think you may be right. It's spread by nematodes eating the roots. They will infect neighbouring plants once they move on to their roots...says I should remove neighbouring plants and steam sterilize the soil (I'll just remove it)...It also says that the virus can live up to 50 years in dried plant material!

So whose bright idea was it to make a Golden Tiara hedge 3 yrs ago anyway?

Only one plant is showing symptoms. Should I just remove the whole lot and try to put in plants that don't catch this virus?

• in ny zone5
    10 years ago

Chris probably certainly knows better, but the first picture seemed to be sun damage to me. Bernd

• ConnieMay ON Z6a
    Original Author