Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
connie_meyer1609

How do I plan a tight hosta bed?

DiggingInTheDirt
9 years ago

I am new to hostas.

I prefer the look of a closely planted hosta bed, one where all the hostas touch each other and there is no visible mulch or soil between them.

But I don't know how to determine the correct spacing between hostas so that they fill in the bed. Do I need to account for a period of time where they reach their full potential? If so, how long might that be?

If I have a tight hosta bed, does it follow that I will need to divide the hostas more frequently once they are established?

Comments (24)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

you buy more than you could ever need... not expecting them to grow...

plant them so they are all touching...

and then.. next year... start digging them out and moving them around.. say.. if they were in a line.. taking every other one out ... etc ...

though genetically subject to height and leaf shape and size ...

in theory.. the clump can get wider.. and wider and wider.. for decades ...

so you learn how to move them ...

ken

• ryseryse_2004
    9 years ago

That is the look I always strive for because they are self-mulching. I put in a new bed 2 years ago - planted them about 2' apart and they are all filled in now. I don't have names on any of mine but there are always a couple of big leafed babies that want to take over large spaces.

I always dig in very early spring when they first start poking up so never know what I am digging until they are up and running. I took out the labels of all perennials years ago because I like to just run my DR brush cutter over all the hosta and other perennial gardens in late fall. I am just too old to want to mess with extensive clean-up.

• gardenweed_z6a
    9 years ago