2013 and 2014...South Side Bed

don_in_colorado
9 years ago

The bed on July 9, 2013

Comments (21)

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And now in 2014. A few plants were resited elsewhere, but mostly I just added to it.

If you are new to hostas, or new to gardening in general, hope some of these pics are heartening. I've only been 'seriously' shade/hosta gardening since 2012, so I'm no expert, just wanted to show you, a little patience and your beds will be rolling sooner than you may think.

Just remember to water often and generously (Unless you live in rainy areas (Lucky ducks!)

Cheers!
    Don B.

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author
    9 years ago

2013 fragrant bed

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And 2014

• almosthooked zone5
    9 years ago

Don , isn't it thrilling the tiny 3 leaved hosta can take such a leap in such a short time and how the leaves get huge the second and third year. I still am in awh how they grow so much.. Loving it! I never knew what I was missing until 2012 too

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Fortunei Aureomarginata 2012

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Fortunei Aureomarginata 2013

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author
    9 years ago

And FA 2014

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author
    9 years ago

It's just awesome, Faye. Love to capture images, and then look at them the next season or two. "Wow, they really ARE growing!" LOL

Good Times

Don B.

• old_dirt 6a
    9 years ago

That is awesome Don! It looks like they are all planted in the ground, is that correct? Beautiful pics...

• hostanista
    9 years ago

Love it!

Let me show you the progress on this bed in a small part of the front yard. Here is 2013:

• hostanista
    9 years ago

And now here is 2014:

• paul_in_mn
    9 years ago

Nice job Don....fun to watch the growth and anticipate next year, keeps us young.

Paul

• don_in_colorado
    Original Author
    9 years ago