Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mbug_zone6

Help with Earth Angel

mbug_gw
10 years ago

During Hurricane Sandy I lost a big old oak in my backyard. My neighbor lost a smaller one that gave me some good shade. They both blocked mid day to afternoon sun. The good news is they missed the house and didn't do to much damage to the beds. The bad news is I lost shade and my backyard fence. The fence was easy to replace, the shade is another story.
I've been making what ajustments I can. Some good growers were starting to fry. They were smaller and I managed to find them shade (I'm still learning which ones take more direct sun.)
The Earth Angel is big... 4 feet + .
{{gwi:1044337}}
This is the side facing away from the sun with quarter on leaf for idea of size
{{gwi:1044338}}

Facing toward sun
{{gwi:1044339}}

What should I do? We have only had a few really hot days and it is getting totally crisp already. I water well and often. I've never attempted moving anything this size.
If I have to get it out of the current location I will. I don't want to lose it!
Thanks in advance!

Comments (8)

• Steve Massachusetts
    10 years ago

You won't lose it. It may burn this year due to the difference in sun exposure. But it needs a season to adjust to its new situation. Make sure it is watered well this year with plenty of supplemental water, especially during the hot summer months. Then check and see what it looks like next year. You likely won't lose a year's growth. If it continues to burn after this summer then you should consider moving it, or planting a small tree to provide some shade.

Steve

• Babka NorCal 9b
    10 years ago