Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
esther_b

Why did baby hosta shoot die?

esther_b
14 years ago

Hi. I'm new to hostas. I planted several divisions given to me by a colleague, some of which had roots and some of which did not. I planted them under a burgundy plum tree, after tilling and enriching the soil with compost. It is shady much of the day. The rooted ones were albapicta (a small varigated hosta) and the unrooted ones with just a bulb at the bottom were large blue-green unknowns. After a couple of weeks, the rootless ones sent up a new leaf. We've had rain nearly every day for several weeks, but there is very good drainage where the hostas are. Some of the hostas sporting the new leaf (the original ones had died off) developed a brown/yellow edge and died. One hosta which I planted as a root only sent up a little green shoot and that also died. What is going on, please? The golden tiara whole plant and one of the transplanted blue-green plants flowered, so the environment must be hosta-friendly, I would think.

Comments (4)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    14 years ago

lack of water ...

perhaps due to lack of roots .... transplant is hard when done at what is NOT the most appropriate time ... and done by newbies ...

the heat of summer has hit.. its not the best time to be reducing the root mass ..

regardless ... try to drown them ... and dont be surprised if they pop back up in a few weeks ...

insure that drainage is proper ... though we try to drown them ... they are not pond plants ...

it concerns me that you describe a bulb.. as hosta have no bulbs... if it is lack of a proper term.. crown .. then you have a hosta..

if there is an actual bulb.. then you might not have a hosta ....

severe leaf burn .. is consistent with dividing.. and lack of water ... they are basically sacrificing the leaves.. to get the roots working ....

a picture would be worth another thousand words of speculation..

welcome to GWeb...

ken

• esther_b
    Original Author