Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bungalowmonkeys

Potted garden?

BungalowMonkeys
9 years ago

I've been browsing the posts for about a week now and noticed that many of you leave your hostas in pots around the garden. I'm very new to gardening so if this is an obvious thing to do, then please excuse this post. Is there a reason to not plant them in the ground? I've just ordered a few hostas from hostadirect and am wondering if I should be doing that as well vs planting them. I'm trying to landscape a wooded bike trail and also start a collection.

Comments (14)

• bkay2000
    9 years ago

I grow in pots for 3 reasons. It's warm here, and they need cooling in the winter. Pots are colder than in the ground.

Also, we have alkaline, clay soil. Hosta like well draining acid soil.

I like them in pots.

bk

• hostahosta
    9 years ago

Here's my take on potted hosta. I have tried some in pots over the past couple of years so I could move them around the garden to fill in and use in areas I couldn't put them in the ground due to extensive tree roots. My experience was potted hosta are much more work, need more frequent watering, fertilizing, etc. You also need to figure out what to do with them over the winter. Last winter I lost about 10 potted hosta due to the extreme cold, but everything in the ground was fine.

Many people grow them in pots for various reasons and are very successful, have beautiful plants and gardens. You will probably get responses from some of them here on the forum. But you should know both the pros and cons as you decide what to do in your garden!

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

i hope you find.. and review posts about our favored vendors ...

you read why pots in the south ...

elsewhere.. its all about the trees you have in the garden... if you have maples.. just go straight to pots .. and some other non-cooperating trees ..