Return to the Hosta Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Interesting markings on H. 'London Fog'

Posted by josephines67 5 ON (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 30, 14 at 10:56

My London Fog is quite attractive this year and really holding the streaks and stippled look well thus far. Yesterday, upon closer scrutiny I noticed about 5-6 leaves bearing a corrugated dark green stripe. I really like the additional interest this stripe is providing.

I've been growing this one for at least three years so am familiar with its transitions (viridescence) throughout the season. However, the addition of the stripe is something new.

LF's parent, Allegan Fog has that dk. grn. stripe as it's margin...could this LF be starting to sport ... Or revert?

Do you have a London Fog? If so, have you experienced the appearance of this stripe?

Any enlightenment would be appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Interesting markings on H. 'London Fog'

Hi Josephine,

My experience is that this sport will take over the plant if you do not separate it. Please see our discussion from last year at the link.

Here is a link that might be useful: http://forums.gardenweb.com/forums/load/hosta/msg0622220030981.html

o

ConnieMay, thank you! The link you provided is exactly what satisfies my question! I joined the forum two weeks after the thread was generated...would you believe I hadn't run across it during the days...and days...and days of reading back in late June, 2013. Much appreciated!

I am going to see if I have a good eye of this striped section. I would love to save it and grow it on as it is sooo interesting. Otherwise, I think my London Fog is looking good! There is also a large portion that is exhibiting a white thin margin...who knows? If successful in culling, I may end up with three versions of London Fog! What fun!

Thanks again, ConnieMay.

Jo

o

• Posted by Eleven Michigan 6A (My Page) on
    Thu, Jul 31, 14 at 8:06