Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sm4657

I'm a newbie....HVX?

sm4657
10 years ago

This is my true first year of getting into hostas....I bought this hosta at a garden center, and was called Pauls Glory...and now I wonder if it has hvx? I potted it and I don't want to add it to my other hostas as it just doesn't look right....
Can any of you hvx experts tell me what you think?

Comments (17)

• sm4657
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Here is another pix....

• sm4657
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Oh, and a third....

• Steve Massachusetts
    10 years ago

It's hard to tell. Can you get a closeup of the leaf at about 8 o'clock in that picture. Also a closeup of the leaf at 6 o'clock would also be helpful.

Paul's Glory does do some color change, so it's a hard one to diagnose. But leaf closeups will help. Did you buy this from a local neighborhood nursery or from a big box store?

Steve

• bkay2000
    10 years ago

I can't tell because the photos are not clear. Based on the first photo, I'd say no. If the vein is the correct color, then it's not HVX, as Chris has explained. In the case of Paul's Glory, the veins should be yellow, yellow-green or white/cream. If the dark/bright green color is between the veins, then it's not probably not HVX. If that dark/bright green is on the veins and bleeding out into the lighter colored area between the veins, then it could be HVX.

So, give us some close up shots that are in focus if you can. If you're having trouble making your camera do that, set it to the highest resolution and then use a photo program to zoom in on the leaf. (Google has a free one.)

bk

• sm4657
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Geez....I bought so many hostas this year....I think it was a local gardening center, but then I did buy some at a big box store (Menards). So, I'm not sure which one I bought where....
    I tried to get a better close up, but my cheapie camera won't take a closer picture in focus.