Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
umub

Groudhog and My lovely planted Hostas

ubee
10 years ago

So i started to plant hostas around my property and went on a short vacation 4 days and came back to all my hostas dug up and eaten. So now my concern is how to get rid of them so i can plant around my yard again. By the way all y hostas are dead and eating. So sad today don't know what to do. Please help with these things i don't know how to start.

We live in northern Virginia and a 2 acres property. Will post pictures

Comments (22)

• ubee
    Original Author
    10 years ago

this is what i left in ground before vacation

• ubee
    Original Author
    10 years ago

this is what i came home to

• jadie88
    10 years ago

So sorry! How disappointing, I am sure. I am no expert (though you'll hear from them!) but I do know that when there is a bit of crown and root, there is hope. I imagine these guys will pull through. Of course they won't be happy about it, especially with them newly transplanted, but I'd bet they'll come back in some way shape or form. (Didn't Ken once mention that shipped hosta used to come with the leaves shorn off for packaging purposes?)

I wish I had advice on getting rid of the critters, but we are fence people. Again, so sorry, and good luck!

• veryblessed
    10 years ago

Androidmom, that looks like deer damage to me? If so they will come back. I have lots of deer, they are a real challange.
    James

• ubee
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I assumed groundhog, because we have so many holes dug up around the deck and one by the side of the house. All of them very deep about 5 feet plus using the outdoor broom for measurement. I am very concern about not be able to plant my yard. And yes we have deers however so much much damage to my plants

• idiothe
    10 years ago

We have both groundhogs and deer...