Return to the Hosta Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Older no ID

Posted by miketropic 6B - 7 KY (My Page) on
Mon, Jul 14, 14 at 16:17

I was gifted some of these a few years ago and they have grown well. They get some pretty good sizes leaves , bigger than my hand and are a green on emerging and then a green/gold as the season goes on. They have large white fragrant flowers. I know the person I got them from had them at least 10 years before I got them so there a bit older..Any Ideas on an ID?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Older no ID

I'm saying Fried Bananas because of the large green to yellow leaves and large white flowers.

DD

o

Fried Bananas

photo IMG_1870_zps4c052da4.jpg

DD

o

My gut instantly said PLANTAGINEA! Large white flowers is a great hint. They should be anywhere around 4-6" long.

o

They were moved this year so might not flower but if they do ill get a pic. Is fried bananas at least 10 years old?

o

Fried Bananas, Solberg 1994.

o

I'm not very good at this but it looks like my Plantaginea. It is very common and I was gifted mine as well. Fragrant white flowers in August.

o

Royal Standard. It's out of the plantaginia family of fragrant hostas which all bloom in August. If it's the grand-daddy plantaginia it will have blooms of about 6 inches long. But the more common Royal Standard has shorter blooms. Ken used to post a chart showing all the lengths of these August bloomers. Maybe he will do so again this year. He's the expert.

Steve

o

Looks like my Plantaginea - that green, the leaf shape, the upright vase shape. Somehow I ended up with many of these in my garden beds - I split and move them around all the time because I use them as fillers in new beds while waiting for new hostas to mature and fill out.

o

without doubt.. if P ... then 6 inch flowers ... nothing shorter than 6 for P ... ever .. or its not P

EVERY OTHER fragrant white is smaller ...